Call 01983 293952 or email

Board of Commissioners for Cowes Harbour

Board of Commissioners

An independent Board of nine non-executive Commissioners and the Harbour Master/Chief Executive govern Cowes Harbour Commission (CHC), with day-to-day management delegated to the Harbour Master/Chief Executive.

Commissioner Recruitment 2021
The Commission is currently seeking to appoint one new Commissioner to commence his/her initial three-term from 1st May 2021.

The Commission also has the ability to co-opt up to two additional Commissioners at any one time if it is considered the Board requires additional specialist skills and experience. Commissioners co-opted for specific purposes serve for a period of 12 months.

The Commission is committed to diversity and encourages applications from a broad section of the community.

Skills and experience sought include but are not limited to: sustainability and conservation, and chartered surveying.

Applications close at 1200 noon on Monday, 1st March 2021.

Harbour Commissioner Information Pack
Application Form for the Appointment of Commissioner

About Commissioners
The Commissioners are appointed on merit on an open recruitment basis to provide the Commission with the professional skills and experience to determine the policy and business decisions of the organisation. The Commissioners are appointed for a term of three years and can usually serve two terms. A maximum of two additional Commissioners can be co-opted at any one time for specific purposes and serve for a period of 12 months.

The Chief Executive and the Commissioners carry out a periodic review of the professional skills and experience requirements necessary to meet the changing demands of the Commission. This agreed list of skills and experience requirements is then compared against the existing balance of skills, experience and portfolio responsibilities of the current Board before agreeing any re-appointment of a Commissioner or before advertising for a new appointment.

Each Commissioner appointment is made after an open competitive selection process based on the agreed skills and experience post description. The Commissioner selection panel of three is led by the Chairman of CHC but has a stakeholder and independent member, thereby ensuring that the balance of the selection panel is independent of the Commission. The Commissioners’ positions are voluntary and they have agreed not to receive remuneration.

Shepards Marina
Shepards Marina
Dry Sailing | Events | Moorings
Boatyard | Storage | Chandlery
Marine Services
Marine Services
Fuel | Commercial | Self Storage

Website design and build by Netguides